Google Reader Adds Annoying New Feature

I’m a big, nay, huge fan of Google Reader.  I love the fact that it’s a one stop shop for all my feeds which i can access on any computer, my phone and even my iPod Touch.  The best thing is, it works and looks great on all those platforms.  A very difficult feat to achieve considering how wildly different the requirements for each are.

There have been some minor, and not so minor, updates to Google Reader since it’s launch and this week brought another little tweak.  Now, when you try and mark a certain number of items as “Read” you get a warning asking if you’re sure.  I don’t know what the exact number is, but I’d guess around 50.  I can’t see the reason for this.  one of Google Reader’s strengths is the ability to deal with multiple feeds and a high number of feed items.  This new feature does impact, albeit in a minor way, on this strength.

Google Reader Asking for Confirmation

The reason I’m confused by this new feature is that once items are read, they’re not lost forever.  If you accidentally marked something as read, you can still get to it.   All you have to do is click the “All Items” link, and then you can view the read items for the folder you’re currently in.  I just don’t get it.

Is this a life-saver for some users?  Or just an annoyance when you’re trying to get through your feeds ever day.